CorePower Yoga Teacher Training

CorePower Yoga Teacher Training Day Sixteen

CorePower Yoga Teacher Training day sixteen was all about the 7 Chakras! Chakras are a wheel in our bodies that make up our energies. We can feel them, but we can’t physically see each chakra. Whether you practice yoga or not, one or multiple chakras within your body may be out of balance from being under active OR over active.

CorePower Yoga Teacher Training

We started off class with a mini meditation session to open the chakras throughout our body by letting light in. It’s amazing how you can feel something within the body when a person explains how it should look or feel (meditation)!

After opening our chakras, we jumped right into diving deeper into the meanings of each chakra as well as the colors, sounds, and postures that represent the chakras. Teachers often mention a few of the chakras within class at CorePower Yoga.

CorePower Yoga Teacher Training

The seven chakras are as followed (Rooted from the tailbone all the way out through the crown of the head:

  1. Muladhara – Base of the tailbone
    1. Root Chakra, Red, Represents survival, grounding, family, security.
      1. Poses: Warrior I, Mountain Pose, Tree
  2. Svadhisthana – Right above the tailbone and below the belly button. Sexual Organs
    1. Sacral Chakra – Orange, Represents sexuality, creativity, and stability in terms of emotions
      1. Poses: Half Pigeon, Seated Wide Leg Forward Fold, Splits, Happy Baby
  3. Manipura – Core / Center of our Gravity
    1. Solar Plexus, Yellow, Represents a healthy gut, our identity, and the idea of not grasping onto something too much.
      1. Poses: Core, Plank, Boat Pose (Navasana)
  4. Anahata – Heart, Upper Back, Arms, Hands
    1. Heart, Green, Represents love and compassion.
      1. Poses: Camel Pose, Wheel, Back bends, Cobra, Dancer, Floor Bow
  5. Vishuddha – Throat
    1. Throat/Voice, Blue, Represents our voice and truth.
      1. Poses: Fish Pose, Breath, Reverse Table Top, Lions Breath
  6. Ajna – Third Eye Center (space between eyebrows and forehead)
    1. Command center, Indigo, Represents our intuition and knowledge. It also represents clarity in our lives and the relationship with the teacher within us all.
      1. Poses: Child’s Pose, Forehead to knees (ball pose), Hands to third Eye
  7. Sahasrara – The space between the crown of head and a few inches above.
    1. Skull, White, Represents the idea of non duality and unity. If you experience this you’ve experienced samadhi which is a state of complete bliss and awareness of non duality.
      1. Poses: Headstand, embryo, savasana (out through the crown of your head).
CorePower Yoga Teacher Training
Swadisthana should say Svadhisthana.

It’s safe to say most of us students found it interesting that you could be out of balance from being over or under active within each chakra. While yoga poses won’t fix your chakras by themselves, they will allow you to open certain areas of the body to change. For example, bridge or wheel (back bend) are both examples of postures that open up the heart (anahata) chakra. However, if you feel as if you’re giving to much and not receiving and need some grounding, a counteractive pose would be Eagle pose (closing off the heart).

We closed class out with another meditation to close our chakras. Great class as we really dived into our inner selves. This lecture has brought light into my life as to what I need to work on from within.

Want to learn more about Chakras and which of yours are out of balance? Take the quiz linked here!

I am PASSIONATE to learn, grow, and share with the world around me.

Leave a Reply